It’s Friday, and eventhough I welcome the long weekend with open arms, it’s a sad day in for the Student Registration Assistants. We have two team members leaving us and I dealt with loss the best way I know how: I baked cupcakes.

There’s just something about mixing batter that lifts my spirits. I think it’s the smell of baking dough that fills my apartment that makes me feel better. I knew that it would be a sad goodbye, so I decided to make the most cheerful cupcakes I knew.

I had made Picky Palate’s colourful cupcakes once before and they were a huge success with my tastebuds, so I knew it was a recipe worth repeating (I’m a reciper repeater, guilty).

My crusade to find gel or paste food colouring ended at the third supermarket I visited so I settled with little food colouring vials from Loblaws, and I am proud to say that they did the job.

I felt very protective of my little cupcakes as I brought them in to work this morning (I don’t really like eating things I make..) but as I heard the ‘oohs’ and ‘aahs’ of my fellow teammates, I got over my ‘thing’ of not eating my own baking and popped one of those cherry flavoured bad boys in my tummy.

They were good. I’m not a bad baker.

So, even though we all feel a little sad to be losing two members of our team, I hope that my cupcakes put a little colour into everyone’s day.

-30-

