Kitchen chalk

After a whole summer of looking at creative things to do to spice up your house, I finally decided to take a tiny leap and paint my kitchen wall.

But I didn’t just paint it any colour, I decided to go bold and paint it with chalkboard paint.

 

It didn’t take much convincing my roommates to jump on the bandwagon and after a pretty short conversation on how we could use it for grocery lists, doodles when we’re waiting for something in the oven and a cute-smart communication device (imagine coming home to a note on the wall that says “you left the raccoon loose in your room!”) we went over to Home Depot for the necessary tools.

The DIY store was pretty foreign to us. The most any of us have ever done in terms of tools is putting together Ikea furniture (which we would like to point out that we do VERY well!) and hammering a nail to put up a mirror. But that’s pretty much it. Walking into a hardware store was an adventure in itself, did you know you could get fake fireplaces for your house?!

After much distraction, we got some help and walked out of there with two paint rollers, painters tape and a little can of chalkboard paint. We were excited. (Note: the used toothbrush was used for little corners. We didn’t get a brush..)

For first-timers, I think we taped the wall pretty well and once we had the wall divided up, it was time to paint!

I am not going to lie and say it went marvellously, but it did go relatively well. I still have paint stains on my hands and at the sole of my foot, but my body parts are the only casualities from this little project.

After three coats and letting the paint dry for 24 hours, we finally had our chalkboard wall, and outcome? We LOVE it! We’ve started decorating (defacing) the wall already and I know by the end of it, we will have plenty of quotes, chalk cartoons and reminders up on our kitchen wall.

I love our wall. When you come over, you should write something on it!

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Canada, Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

