Goodbye Carleton

It has been quite an exciting summer so far. I have attempted 127 job searches which have all resulted to me somehow ending up on Pinterest and crazily liking clothes I could never afford and houses I will never live in.

Being out of school is scary, but at least the celebration was fun. My parents came to spend the week with me, something that I truly appreciate. I haven’t selfishly had them all to myself for quite a while, it was nice to pretend as if I was an only child for once.

SONY DSCThe day went by as a blur, I honestly cannot remember much other than the montage of hugs, kisses and photos that I managed to share with friends, classmates and professors.

IMG_1457

I can’t believe it’s been four years since I started at Carleton. I was laying in bed last night thinking about my very first day of school and how far I’ve come since then, all the crazy cool people I’ve met and all the random things I’ve learned. I remember walking into the Fieldhouse in an ugly orange Journalism t-shirt on the first day of orientation and thinking about how lost and afraid I felt among a sea of people I didn’t know. Four years later I managed to not trip on my black convocation hood and robe while my parents, friends and, still a thousand people I didn’t know, but who cheered me on regardless – it was a pretty great feeling.

So this is a shout-out to Carleton; for being the school I dreamed about for so long, for being more than I could have ever expected, and for giving me more than I deserve.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

So school’s out, summer’s in, and I’m no farther in figuring out my next life plans. A few friends are insanely planning and starting out the new phase of their lives, and I feel like a bum who still relies on daily Netflix movies to get her through a rough day.

Growing up is tough, it IS exciting, but I’m grappling at how to follow up a pretty awesome adventure with another that is as equally rewarding.

 

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Canada, Carleton University and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

