I don’t want to be JUST skinny

Ladies, people, humans – here is the 411:

In December of 2013, my mom finally convinced me after years of encouragement (read: nagging) that it was finally time for me to lead a healthy and active lifestyle. I took her advice and started following a workout program that had me hauling a** for 25 minutes every day for 8 weeks. I thought it was okay, and my body was ‘meh’ at best. I eventually fell off the fast-moving wagon and dived back in to my comatose and sloth-like ways of life. Cake is LIFE. Barbecue chips are LOVE.

I didn’t see any changes to my weight, or body – so why bother?

Even though I loved my junky monkeys (this is what my family refers to as junk food, we’re weird), I was not happy with what I saw when I got dressed every morning. If you know me in real life, you are most probably rolling your eyes at me right now and thinking “shut up skinny b**ch!”Justified, truly. But everyone has their own idea of how they want to look, so thank you for thinking I’m skinny (big whoop), but that was not enough for me.

Every morning before work I would look into the mirror and see someone who had a flabby butt, a muffin top, chicken arms and an increasingly bloated tummy. I hated it. I complained internally to myself and beat myself up about it and drowned my sorrows in more cake and chips, because ‘why ever not?!” Cake and chips fix everything.

In early November 2014, I was cruising Instagram’s Popular page and came across this disgustingly gorgeous and infinitely badass fitness model, Emily Skye. I stalked her, as normal people do, and found her fitness program, the 28-day shred. I watched her promo video and whipped out my credit card. That was enough. I had decided, it was time to make a change.

I’ll leave out the boring details and simply tell you that I followed her 28-day program to a T. I ate nothing but what she outlined, did every single workout (40 minutes of cardio in the morning before work, and weight training in the evening after work), and pushed myself through every mental block I had (while pretending that Emily was cheering me on in her super sexy Australian accent). People, I saw results every single d*mn day.

I took photos of myself every morning after my workouts and was obsessed with putting them side-by-side at the end of the week to see how far I got. I don’t want to put the photos up (cause I’m half naked, and that won’t be cool), but trust me, my body transformed. And I loved it.

I think the reason why my first attempt at getting fit didn’t work in 2013 was because I didn’t change anything about my diet/food intake. I don’t use the word ‘diet’ in a ‘lose weight quick context’, I’m using the word as it rightfully should be used – to describe the types of food and nutrition that you are putting into your body. In 2013, I hyped up my level of activity with the workout program, but I was still best friends with my instant noodles, cookies and ice cream. And that’s not how it works. You have to eat ‘clean’, you have to feed your body with what it needs to be powerful and superwoman-like.

Diet, nutrition and fitness all go hand-in-hand and that was what Emily’s program taught me. AND H*LY B*ALLS I saw changes. All the ‘sacrifices’ (but let’s be real, deciding to eat a salad instead of a cheeseburger could hardly be classified as a ‘sacrifice), time, and dedication I put into turning my life and body around, it has been worth it.

I have changed it up and gone through my troughs and peaks since the end of 2014. I have tried other programs, tweaked my diet and nutrition to one that fits my lifestyle (and pocket), and learned what works for me.

This life change is something that I’ve kept relatively quiet on my slice of the interwebs because why would you want strangers to know what you look like with your clothes off? But now as I’m on the cusp of figuring out what to do with the next little bit of my life and discovering what my passion is/will be, I’m thinking ‘why not?’.

Emily helped me by being open, by sharing her life and inspiring me to change what I was unhappy about with mine. And maybe this naive little part of my heart hopes I can do that for someone too, a girl who has tried everything but seen no results, a fellow muslim fly-fit chick who may be using our dedication to cover as an excuse, or simply someone who just hasn’t decided to make a healthy and active change.

I am here for you.

The changes don’t have to be big or mighty, because those are the scariest. Even if you don’t feel like you need or want to make change, it’s all cool. The fact that you’re even reading this and interested in me is amazing enough.

So here we go, Iman’s sharing this part of her life. It’s going to be fun 🙂

image1

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health and Wellness, Self Development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

