Five Things I Miss About the Great White North

Number One) Being able to feel like I’m actually living somewhere that’s as grand and special as the ‘Great White North’. I cannot think of another place in the world that sounds as majestic as the ‘Great White North’.

Sure, there’s the Land Down Under (Australia), The Holy Land (for all technical purposes, Israel), The Bread and Basket of Europe (Ukraine) and the Pearl of the Orient (Philippines), but do they sound like they can withstand -40 degrees? The Great White North will sucker punch their winter boots right off.

IMG_0639~2

Number Two) Three hole punched-paper. Legit.

When I first arrived in Ottawa, I thought three ring binders were the weirdest thing – why would you need a third hole?! But now that I’m back in two-hole-paper-land, I totally understand the importance of the third hole on that piece of paper. You may underestimate it, but hole-y, that third punch means a lot!

Not only does it optically look better and the binders are stronger, it’s just more symmetrical. I want that third hole back so bad. It just make so much sense!

Number Three) The ability to leave my house without fear.

Not that I am constantly afraid in KL – but in Ottawa I could leave my apartment and not lock my front door (not that I ever do that…) and everything will be there when I get back. I was never afraid to walk down quiet alleyways (not that I did that regularly) or stay out till 2 a.m. (it didn’t happen that often). Ottawa was so safe.

I always felt safe, protected and somehow knew that nothing bad could ever happen in beautifully happy Ottawa.

Number Four) All the Canadians.

Yes, all of them. ALL.

From the check-out assistants at Shopper’s Drug Mart and my favourite OC Transpo bus drivers, to all my friends (yes, all) and even the annoying people who used to bug me about things that bugged me. I miss them all.

*sighs and sheds a quiet tear*

IMG_7371

Number Five) Greek yogurt, its ability to be eaten and appreciated as a pillar of the dairy family.

There is no such thing as edible greek yogurt in Malaysia. I have easily ‘wasted’ 3-4 tubs trying different brands in hopes that they would serve me well during breakfast. I am beginning to think that dairy companies in Malaysia refuse to produce greek yogurt because they want us all to eat shitty high-in-sugar ‘normal’ flavoured yogurt.

In my quest, I saw a brand that promoted itself as ‘Greek style yogurt’ – what does that even mean? What’s ‘greek style’? Does every tub of their yogurt come with a toga? Will my greek ‘styled’ yogurt taste like a gyros kebab?!

I am highly displeased with my lack of choice in the greek yogurt department. I miss greek yogurt so much, I would bathe in it (not really, but you can feel my level of heartache).

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Canada, Carleton University, Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Things I Miss About the Great White North

  1. Gabi says:

    I’m not sure about MY but in Bkk I found the best greek yogurt ever. I don’t remember the brand but it was made in Australia. I understand your struggle 😀 a life without a good yogurt must be tough!

Leave a Reply

