Surprise Bridal Shower

One of the biggest things that inspires me is Love.

I felt so loved when my friends threw me a surprise bridal shower (from now on referred to as SBS) before I left Ottawa. It will always be one of my most favourite memories, ever.

My friends totally duped me. I honestly thought a few of us were going over to NM’s house for a casual hang out, eat chips and watch a movie.

But when I got there, I noticed there were a lot of chairs and said “are we playing musical chairs with the baby?” I walked towards the kitchen and suddenly saw so many beautiful faces peeking down at me from the stairs!

I remember squealing out in extreme surprise and hugged everyone as they came down. It was such a fun moment. My friends later told me they were shocked that I didn’t notice the rows of cars lined up outside and all the shoes by the front door. I am oblivious about these things.

I received the most wonderful gifts. The best one being a snow-globe with a photo of the world’s cutest baby inside. I am so happy my sister got a photo of me when I discovered what it was!

IMG_7040 IMG_7056 IMG_7058

My friends pitched in and gave me a maple leaf charm for my Pandora bracelet. I always think about SBS when I look at it now. All the gifts I received are sprinkled around my room in KL, and little glimpses of them here and there instantly bring me back to that fun day.

IMG_7060

There is something unexplainable about Love.

Genuine, constant and kind Love is almost like magic. There were so many emotions I felt that day, it’s hard to explain it.

But the greatest feeling was just being around wonderful people who I loved. Plus the food was really good too.

IMG_7062 IMG_7063 IMG_7064

When I look back  on these photos now, almost 100 days after leaving Ottawa, I can’t imagine that I am so blessed to have had so many friends who became my family. I think about how I was a quiet little girl when I first arrived and the grown up I was when I left.

19-year-old Iman would be proud of 25-year-old Iman.

IMG_7065 IMG_7066 IMG_7067

I think the most important thing about Love is how grateful it makes me feel. It makes me smooshy, warm and sometimes I even wonder if I’m deserving of all the Love I received that day, and the Love I receive every day! To be surrounded by people who accept you, build you up and encourage you constantly is a rare thing.

I had the biggest smile on my face that day, it made my cheeks ache.

Have you ever smiled so much, that your teeth hurt? I think that’s the pinnacle of smiling too much. I fear for our wedding day.

IMG_7069 IMG_7070 IMG_7071

There were several friends at SBS who had never met each other. I have several groups of friends, and seeing them all together in one room was almost freaky. It’s like watching all your favourite characters from six different TV shows cameo on one episode of FRIENDS. I know, freaky, but awesome.

IMG_7072 IMG_7073 IMG_7074SBS was one of the greatest days of my life. I will never forget all the special little moments I shared with each friend, our gift-circle where I opened fun and sweet presents and just taking several moments to look around the room and cherish it all. Isn’t that the point of bridal showers? To be smothered in intense love and affection?

It was almost like a going-away party and a bridal shower, all in one.

Love transcends time and distance. The biggest gift my friends gave me at SBS was the memory and happiness of it all, something I always pull out of my back pocket when I miss them.


IMG_7077I love you guys.

PS: Come back tomorrow and check out Vlog 3.0!

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Canada, Friends, Wedding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

