VLOG: What’s This On My Wrist?!

I’ve lived with a little grey-green bump on my left wrist for the last two-ish years (or maybe even longer, my memory evades me). It shall now be affectionately referred to as Bump.

When I press on Bump, it hurts – so I don’t press or bother it much. I massage it from time to time, thinking that it might be tiny knotted blood vessels that just need a little help. I’ve never gone to see a doctor about it because Bump doesn’t hurt me when unprovoked.

But last week, Bump started going crazy and swelled up. My left wrist was red and the area around Bump was inflamed and I couldn’t even touch it. My whole left arm was numb and I couldn’t bend my wrist – I’m not a professional doctor, but personally, I find it quite alarming.

Mom and I rushed to the hospital on Friday, after giving Bump 24 hours to calm down. Bump didn’t subside and my arm was still in pain. When we got to the hospital, we saw the on-call doctor and he immediately said that I had a ganglion cyst.

K, so he hardly looked at my wrist and didn’t even touch Bump (who was a little hurt by the lack of attention) and he asked me if I had back problems (which I do because of my scoliosis) and as soon as I said yes, he ordered me to get an MRI and attributed my numb arm to my bad back.

He said the cyst had nothing to do with my arm, to keep the cyst in my wrist, gave me some painkillers, patted my head and saw me to the door.

Umm, again, I’m not a medical professional but what are the odds of Bump flaring up and my back causing my arm to be numb at the exact same time? My back has been completely fine and under control (thanks to my remarkable chiropractor – love you Stacia!) for months.

Dissatisfied with the diagnosis he gave me, Mom and I made an appointment for the following Monday to see an orthopaedic surgeon who we hoped would give us a more correlated opinion.

And that’s what you’ll see in today’s vlog!

I really don’t mean to be bitchy about these sort of things because I’m sure many doctors have loads of experience and knowledge, but it really gets to me when doctors do not listen to their patients. Sure, we may not be as educated as you are, but we are the ones experiencing the pain and symptoms.

I feel doctors shouldn’t brush off what their patients are telling them just because they ‘see’ physical symptoms – aren’t the symptoms which are felt just as important?!

I get riled up about these things sometimes because untrained doctors could potentially lead to lost lives because of their lack of knowledge and training, and if only all doctors followed proper protocol then Derek Shepherd wouldn’t have died and he and Meredith and Zola and Bailey and the new baby could all have lived happily ever after and Meredith wouldn’t have to experience another loss in her tragic life because seriously who goes through that much sh*t in one lifetime!?

It is unfair! And all because of that one mistake that doctor made! Derek lost his life! He is gone! Forever!

Okay, so glad to have gotten that off my chest!

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Health and Wellness, Vlog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

