Pre-Workout Blues

I haven’t worked out since August 22nd – the day before our wedding.

I told myself I was on a break after working hard non-stop for six months. A one week break turned into two weeks then eventually a month. I decided I’d reboot after we got back from our honeymoon. It’s been almost three weeks since Bali and every day I watched my baby abs (cheh!) slowly lose form.

Last weekend I decided that Monday would be my fresh start.

Today is Monday.

I woke up, got into my cute purple Adidas shorts and worked out for 30 minutes till my thigh muscles quivered. I squated and jumped like baby kangaroo. I haven’t been able to walk properly since – leg day sucks, but not really.

Life happens. We get distracted and go off track for a while – work piles up, dates with friends are planned, or an annoying cold knocks you out for a few days. Then you find your workout routines goes from regular to non-existent. I know exactly what it’s like to be kicking butt on an amazing routine, then something happens (like a wedding, haha!), you allow yourself to miss a few workouts and then you’re in an exercise rut.

It does not feel good.

So what should we do to get back into our good habits and kick our excuses to the curb?

IMG_1467

Here are some tips on how to re-start and give yourself a motivational push and cheer into the right direction

  1. Start with something simple

If you’re really struggling to get back into working out, and feel overwhelmed, it’s best to just start with something simple and basic. If going to the gym for a heavy lifting session is daunting, then just take a brisk walk or light jog. The trick is to get moving and just start!

Once you start small and feel good from with what you’ve done, you’ll be empowered to push harder and get stronger. You’ll find that healthy habits are easily renewed once you get into the groove.

2. Just do five minutes

A 30 minute or hour workout feels suicidal when you’re starting out at zero – just commit to working for five minutes, but give it your 110%!

3. Remember how strong it makes you feel

Many people focus on the challenge instead of the outcome. Workouts are tough, but you always feel absolutely superhuman after. If you’re needing inspiration and motivation to get through an exercise routine, just remember that incredible post-workout high – no one ever regrets a workout.

4. Sign up for a program or be part of a training group

Sticking with a healthy lifestyle is always easier when you have guidelines and the support of other people who understand what you’re going through. When I wanted to start my healthy chapter, I joined Emily Skye’s 28 Day Shred. It changed my life.

Many programs offer meal plan guidelines (so you don’t have to rack your brains trying to figure out what a “healthy diet” is -they’ve done it for you), workout schedules AND access to a group of girls/woman/people who are doing the program with you. I found the forum to be one of the main things that helped me through the program.

There’s nothing as amazing as women empowering and supporting other women – it’s a boost of confidence, love and strength guaranteed to awaken your inner supergirl. Just search on Google or Instagram to find a program that you’d like to join – they are usually virtual and ebooks get sent right to your email.

Once the program or challenge wraps up, you’re going to feel and look amazing, so why would you just want to stop there?

5. Don’t only think ‘gym’

Gyms are great. But they’re also intimidating. Many people use “not liking the gym” as an excuse to not workout. Find ways to make exercise interesting and fun – sign up to play sports or an intramural, go for a jog around your neighbourhood park or do a few laps in the pool. It’s simply about figuring out ways to incorporate exercise into your routine.

Habits are formed by consistent daily activities that we choose to spend our time doing. The more consistent you are with your workouts and eating nutritiously, the easier it is to make it a habit and part of your routine.

Once it’s a habit, you’ll find working out no big deal because it’s part of your life. Your big, beautiful, healthy Life that you’ve created for yourself.

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health and Wellness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

