Meeting Iman Azman

The power of the internet is cool, and creepy.

I went out for lunch with my friend Safiyya last week. We sat at a little table in Serai, a restaurant in the Dining Loft at Pavillion. We hadn’t seen each other since my wedding reception where she was my pengapit and there was so much to catch each other up on.

If you know Saf in real life, you’ll know that this chick is a total nutty firecracker. I love her to bits and when I’m listening to hear speak, I’m usually just sitting in silence and awe (because she talks enough for eighteen people).

We’re chatting away, discussing why Saf is wearing a bright yellow Brazil football jersey (she was watching a movie with friends and had to wear the jersey to represent her cat, Ozil because the jersey also had the name ‘Ozil’ on the back..) and I noticed the guy sitting at the next table sort of lean over to Saf as if he wanted to say something to her, and then retract back.

I thought he was going to ask her to keep her voice down! He almost did it a second time, before he and his three friends moved to another table. I thought we dodged a bullet of awkwardness and continued to listen to Saf’s recent Irish adventure.

Then the same guy came back to our table and said “Excuse me, are you Iman Azman?”

A million questions started going off in my head – Who is this guy? Is he here to offer me a job? Did I tweet something rude that somehow offended him and he read it? How does he know my name? Do I have lipstick on my teeth? Does he watch my vlogs? Should I know who he is?

“Yes, I’m Iman”

“Okay cool, because my friend over there is also Iman Azman and she wants to know if she can say hi”, and he points to the only girl who is part of their group that moved to the other table.

“Oh my gosh, yes of course!” The girl comes over and she DOES look vaguely familiar.

We say our “nice to meet you’s” and she tells me that her name is Iman Azman as well and what a weird coincidence it is that she and her friends come to lunch and she sits right next to someone with the same name (before they moved tables, she was sitting next to me)

She says that when she googles her name (our name), my photos and my slices of the internet pop up and that’s how she recognised me. “No shame at all, we ALL google ourselves – that’s why you look so familiar too,” I said. Apparently there is also a guy with our name as well.

It was so nice (and brave) for her to come up and say hi. If it was me, I would’ve just creepily watched her from a distance.

We didn’t get a photo together, but I think it is such a funny and unique encounter. We don’t look anything like each other, but it’s cool to know that you’ve met someone who shares the most important thing you own – your name, which is pretty much your identity.

We said goodbye and she went back to her table. I said to Saf, “That is so weird!”

She then asks, “Girl, you Google yourself?”

Yes. Yes, I do.

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Malaysia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meeting Iman Azman

  1. Hidayah says:

    Hi! No my name is not Iman Azman but my son’s name is Iman Asyraff! A combi of your husband and your name! Just that the Asyraff spelling is different! Hehe

Leave a Reply

