Blundering over bouquets

Life announcement: I am employed.

For a little over a month, I’ve had a reason to wake up early and go somewhere, do stuff and feel useful.

Before GB (‘GirlBoss’, still not sure how I’d like to work this..) left for a trip she told me to send a bouquet of flowers to a nearby boutique. She wanted something big, something fancy.

And she wanted it sent ‘today’ – this was 2pm, and I assumed florists close at 5pm. I freaked out and started Googling like crazy. After a few phone calls, and Facebook messages, I finally found a florist that was willing to do it – I ‘okayed’ the example photo they sent, paid, and off it went.

Crisis averted, I did not screw up. Yay me.

But the next day when I got in to work, GB sent me a text with a photo of my pathetic ‘bouquet’ – it was literally 7 stalks of flowers in a huge glass vase that was probably big enough to fit my head.

She was like “…..” and I was like “……!!!!!” My palms and pits felt like they were leaking.

GB very nicely told me to try again, and she said “gotta make sure it’s BIG, and send today”

I felt like dying. But I will not let a bouquet of flowers take me down! I hopped into the car and went to Floristika in Bangsar. Ater calling them frantically, they told me they had a few ready-made BIG bouquets that I can pick from.

I got there, and the bouquets were NOT BIG #liars

I ran around to their in-house florist upstairs and put on my biggest ‘please help me’ smile (teeth and everything) and they shot me down – “we’re busy, please pick something ready-made downstairs”

They’re not BIG enough I screamed to myself.

Last resort: go to the walk in ‘warehouse fridge’ and pick from thousands of flowers, and make my own darn bouquet. K, I don’t know the difference between a peony and primrose and putting something together is my worst nightmare. Like why are there 5 different colours of roses?!

I walked around, blinded by all the pollen and bright colours, and just picked flowers that I thought were pretty. After 10 minutes, I looked at my hands and realised that I had the ugliest combination of flowers ever – even I knew that. I stood in a corner to figure out a game plan, but instead I felt my eyes get itchy and wet – what kind of freak cries in a flower fridge?!

“Kak okay ke?”

I turned around and there was a girl wearing a Floristika shirt and she looked concerned. Obviously, even I would be curious if someone cried at my place of work.

I told her what was happening and she slowly took all the flowers I had clutched in my hands, and asked me what kind of bouquet I needed.

“Besar. I tak kisah flower apa pun. Janji besar!”

We then walked around and she pointed out flowers that would look good together. Yes, yes, yes, I don’t care if they’re white or blue – just make it!

We boiled it down to orchids and other things (flower aficionado, clearly) and she took me to the back of the warehouse and we (she) started putting it together. I basically stood there and watched her create the most beautiful (and biggest) bunch of flowers I’d ever seen.

While she did that I found out that she actually worked upstairs as an in-house florist and was just taking a stroll through the flowers when she noticed me (breaking down).

I saved her number in phone and said “I’ll be calling you, we’ll definitely see each other again! I hope you don’t mind”

She handed over the flowers and I safely delivered them to the boutique (the bouquet was bigger than my head, as you can see..)

IMG_4864 (1)

Reported back to GB and asked “Is this big enough”

She texted back, “No” #obviouslyjoking

So, I am loving my job! Legit, I can’t wait to go to work on Monday during the weekend (#extremeloser), the days just fly by and everyone is nice.

GB, please don’t take this away from me!

 

 

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blundering over bouquets

  1. Nur says:

    Salam, iman. Gotta say that i love your blog! Thank you, jzkillahu khairan muahmuah😘😘
    I can relate to your post, i’ve been a PA too.

    When i first started working as a PA, i was a nervous wreck. “Am i doing this right?!” – I asked myself a gabazillion of times. After awhile, I managed to get the hang of things. Here are some tips to get you through the rough times:
    1. Whatever you learn as a PA will help you so much in life! I had to learn how to persuade and negotiate with people whom i found to be intolerable…These are soft-skills that can take you far, believe me. It may seem like whatever your doing is not as “productive” or “necessary” as you’d hope. But all these small things add up to something great!

    2. Be good to your boss – No matter what. Their mind is busy and their stressed out. So be the one that they can rely on, be the one that can they feel at ease with. It may be a long way to go but you’ll get there.

    3. Observe their good traits. Most probably why they got the position that they’re in is because they have certain qualities that got them there (passion/determination/high standards). Follow and apply it in your life, take and copy the good from them.

    I love my ex-boss. She’s an amazing lady mashaAllah..still have so much to learn from her. Take care💕

    Ps: you inspired me to get fit! Jzkillahu khairan #nowwheredmysneakers?

Leave a Reply

