Wedding Photos: The First

My parents hosted their reception for our wedding a week after our Nikah. My mom threw herself into transforming Dewan Perdana Felda into something super magical, I haven’t finished saying ‘thank you’ yet. Does anyone have an affordable Chanel for sale? #Mimsneedsherswagbag

IMG_8641IMG_9909

Most weddings have a super cute montage of the bride and groom growing up but I wasn’t ready to show the world my half-naked baby photos. So I found a cool online app that livestreams photos on instagram that uses hashtags of your choice. I think it’s a great alternative to the traditional montage videos.

IMG_9899IMG_9953IMG_8672IMG_8733IMG_8770

We were lucky enough to get our baju songket tailored especially for us without an exorbitant price tag (wedding costs can seriously sky-rocket!). Mims and I picked out a gorgeous off-white, bunga tabur songket from Jakel and Mama (my Mother In Law) knew a designer who could make it for us at a reasonable price.

Trust me, I was far from a bridezilla. I was almost too laid back sometimes, haha! Honestly I just wanted what was easiest, as long as it looked nice. The only thing I truly wanted was a simple but stunning dress.

The designer made me a fitted top with beading and lace in all the right places, and I asked for a skirt inspired by this Zac Posen dress, with a little train at the back. I was so happy in my songket, I did not want to take it off at the end of the day.

IMG_8716IMG_8706

For all the future brides out there: NEVER underestimate the power of make up. Truthfully, I did not like my make up for our Nikah. It didn’t make me look (or feel) beautiful, I just rode on the bridal adrenaline and willed myself to not cry when I looked in the mirror. To this day, I can’t look at my Nikah photos without feeling crappy.

BUT, I LOVED (obsessed, crazy about, will never forget) my reception make up. I followed Farah (aka @ferra_rossa on Instagram) and literally the second my Mom told me the date for the reception, the first thing I did was book Farah. A year ahead of the wedding. I wanted her so bad.

IMG_8809

She is incredibly sweet and was so kind. She let me pick our make-up playlist to listen to, and didn’t think I was weird when all I wanted was Disney songs. She made me feel extremely calm and I trusted her to do whatever she wanted with my face.

It’s EXTREMELY important to trust your make-up artist and allow them to magically transform your face. All I said to Farah was I wanted a classic and clean look, but still look like myself. She delivered that and more. If anyone is looking for a make-up artist who understands what you want and gives you need, Farah is your girl!

She was eight months pregnant in this photo, look at that glow! And look at my grateful face, haha!

IMG_8810IMG_8792IMG_8822IMG_8825

We didn’t have dulang girls/boys, or a posse of bridemaids – not really my thing (alosbecauseidon’thaveenoughfriends). But I was so happy when my longest friend, Sofia (buddies since we were 2) and my best friend, Kate agreed to be the two people who walked with us into the hall, and to pretend kipas-kipas us when we were on the pelamin.

Kate is Canadian so she didn’t have a clue what was going on, but was graciously beautiful through it all. Thank you for being the best low key “bridesmaids” a girl could ever ask for.

IMG_8798IMG_8795IMG_8835

Mims and Mools in Variante baju kurungs. Papa and Tils in cute brown baju melayus.

IMG_9942IMG_9928IMG_8849IMG_9988IMG_0093IMG_9897IMG_0014IMG_0023IMG_8864IMG_0040IMG_8908IMG_8899IMG_8926

There were a lot of people who came to celebrate our day with us, and even though I didn’t know /recognize 75% of the people who were there, I am SO grateful that they took the time to attend – so a huge ‘Thank You So Very Much’ from us #Iknowthisgratitudeislike6monthstoolatebutohwell

IMG_8913IMG_8906IMG_8928IMG_9937IMG_9096

One for the books – a photo with my arwah Nenek’s siblings. It’s almost as if she was with us that day.

IMG_9093

Our beautiful family! How could a girl get so lucky – two Mamas, a Papa, an Ayah, five brothers (one not pictured), three sisters and a nephew, plus another on the way!

IMG_8979IMG_9222IMG_9049IMG_9139IMG_9022IMG_9161IMG_9218IMG_9410IMG_9390IMG_9381IMG_9301

Oh gosh, he makes me so happy #ishouldtellhimmoreoften

IMG_9320IMG_9348IMG_9427

The day was as beautiful as it was because of this incredible woman. Thank you for ‘slaving’ (not really because I was super chill) over every detail, making sure we had everything we needed and wanted, and for giving us the most beautiful wedding.

We love you, Mims. Thank you for that special day, and for every day.

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wedding Photos: The First

  1. Syhirh says:

    I actually thought that your makeup during nikah was gorgeousssss! It looked natural but you were still glowing and it wasn’t anything over the top.

  2. Dee says:

    Iman! Please share with us what app that was, the one you used to livestream your photos! Sounds like a wonderful idea!

Leave a Reply

