You want my job – are you sure?

People constantly tell me (privately or publicly) that they “want my job” or that I have “the best job in the world” and that I am SOOO lucky.

It may seem glamorous when I’m toting behind GB at fashions shows or events, or when you see me on TV buying her a sugar donut from Starbucks. It does seem fun when we’re constantly on the go and traveling,

BUT,

…Do you know how hard it is to pee while holding three phones? It’s very difficult.

…Would you like her to call you a “bag lady” every day when you’re holding her bag, her gym bag, her son’s school bag, her work bag (filled with other bags), bags of gifts, and your own bag. It’s heavy #socialmediaabuse

image

…How would it feel to tirelessly iron clothes and scarves, only to not have them worn. Extremely annoying.

…Try stuffing a Samsung charger, iPhone charger, MacBook charger, her Ollie Olympus camera, Ollie Olympus’ charger, a power bank, two kinds of Vitagen aand mints into your bag. I’ve mishapen so many bags already.

image

…Can you imagine not being able to wear anything higher than kitten heels?! #goodbyemynonexistantlouboutins #iamnotallowedtobetallerthanher

…Would you like to hold up her eyelashes when they get too heavy? Who else has to do this! I’m sure even Mariah Carey has the strength to hold up her own lashes.

…To dress a 28 year old fashionista daily while she busies herself with her phone. Like literally put her legs into her pants and zip her up. It’s not a task for the weary.

…Getting woken up at 3AM with a flurry of texts that include “are you asleep?” isn’t the greatest when you’re dreaming about marrying Prince William.

…When your boss invites you to dinner but forgets to ask you what you want to eat and orders without you #whataboutme

… I somehow feel like I’m going through an extreme identity crisis. People have started saying that I now dress like her, we say the same things, or that they go to my Instagram for an “unplugged version” of her #identitycrisis

image

All that to say, I still have the best job in the world. I’m not going to say much, other than I am extremely blessed and even though I know (because I have been told!) that there are lots of girls out there who would kill for my job (or tarik my tudung for it, haha!) it is still a job.

I try to give it my all when I can and I want to help GB with whatever she needs, but the most important thing for me is that I am happy, and she is happy. She makes me laugh so hard, and a day without belly-aching giggles is not a ‘real’ day. Even though hearing the clickety-clack of her heels coming down the hallway sends my mind into a frenzy (did I forget anything?! Did I bring that thing she wanted? Do I smell good enough?!), it also puts a smile on my face because it’s time to hang out (and work) with someone I consider a great friend, and amazing employer.

I would go as far as saying that she is Top 20 in my world (didn’t make it on to her list, but whatever…) This may not mean much because I don’t know many people, but oh well. She may not know it, but she inspires me to work harder and be as good as she is. I get lots of emails from people who write about how much GB means to them, even though they’ve never met her. I’m lucky enough to know her in real life, and I wish everyone could too.

All those examples above, though they seem ridiculous (but very real!) are the reasons why I am very happy these days. So yes, Alhamdulillah I have a great job.

image

#mushypostisover

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You want my job – are you sure?

  1. Iman, my darling, it’s so nice to say that I’ve known this ~reality star~ when you were still “unplugged” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    These guys don’t know how Ottawa-famous you are!

    Seriously though, I’m so happy to hear you’re happy!!!

  2. sofiyawmn says:

    I guess everything has it challenges but as long as you have passion for it, you’ll do whatever it takes and go the extra mile ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. everyone wants this job because YOU made it looked so fun (and glamorous)! when in reality, i don’t think most of those people would really last a week. being an assistant is really a tough job but yeah, it’s so inspiring to watch you enjoying every bits of it. Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. All the best Iman! May you be as successful as Vivy โค

  4. Farah Liyana says:

    Gosh Iman, I have never known you but you’ve been a darling to me, being kind reaching out for me when you don’t have to. And you deserve to be happy, career-wise, personal matters-wise. People may say how lucky you are to work with Vivy, but I’m so sure with you being so kind, would definitely make Allah sends you all these beautiful people around you. Keep being you. And thank you.

  5. @halizaab says:

    I want to cry looking at the olympus camera.. dumped just like that in the bag, it looked so kesian…

  6. Thankั• f฿‹r another excellent post. Where else could anybody get
    that kind of ั–nfo in such an ideal approach of writing?
    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for
    such info.

Leave a Reply

