We’re Going To The Beach!

We’re sitting in a pretty bumpy plane heading to Male. Male is the capital city of Maldives. Yes, Maldives is big enough to have a capital city.

Girl Boss and Man Boss are in Tokyo for a work trip and it was “too expensive” to bring me along. I secretly think Man Boss is trying to phase me out of their trips so they can make it more romantic #thirdwheelproblems They’ve been on four trips without me – how is that supposed to make me feel?! Who’s going to iron their clothes, carry her bag and make sure they have all their limbs?! drama lebih

Anyway, they’re gone for the whole week and the last time they left me I was bored out of mind. There’s only so many times I can clear my inbox in a day. 

Lightbulb: take the week off! People assume that if they’re gone, I don’t work, but far from the truth, I’ve been at the office sorting mail and “boosting morale” on all their previous trips.  But this time I felt like I was due for a bit of break. 

This job takes a lot out of me (dedicating your life to someone else does that!) and I don’t want to burn out, though it feels like it sometimes! So I cashed in some of my untouched annual leave, visited AirAsia.com and decided to go somewhere we’ve never been before!

Ashraf recently finished his Masters and starts his new job in October inshallah so this trip is a nice break for me, and a fresh beginner for him before he starts his new adventure. Fine, these are just lame excuses for a trip.

I’ve never done something as impulsive as this before and it seems sort of surreal to not have to “ask permission” from my parents or worry about having enough money to go – you just have to dive in and make it happen. We just casually told them that we’re leaving for a few days, and I shifted around some of our budget to make it work. Being married is awesome guys, you can do (almost) anything you want! I highly recommend.

So the plane ride is 4.5 hours, and we’re more than half way through it. I splurged on the hot seats (big spender) and bought a bottle of water for RM 3. I’m tired of reading my book, my mouth is dry from eating too many sour skittles, I have a bit of a stomach ache, my phone died, Ashraf’s laptop only has Batman cartoons and thriller movies, and I just want to get there already!

I can already imagine the ocean and the palm trees and all the sunblock I’m going to have to slather on myself. We’ll be arriving at 8PM though so I hope the ferry that needs to take us to our hotel will still be operating. If not, we’ll figure it out. It’s an adventure!

Okay, I’m going to play the jumping dinosaur game on the google page that comes out when there’s no internet – you know what I’m talking about. See you in Male!

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Marriage, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re Going To The Beach!

  1. Hani says:

    I know that game. my 2yo daughter LOVE that game! 😂

Leave a Reply

