Say Hello To The “Imandatory Read”

Be honest – who can’t pronounce it properly? Or do you need a split second before saying it to be sure?

I’d like to put it on record that I checked with at least seven people before deciding on naming the column “Imandatory”. I wanted my name in it (a bit into myself eh?) and thought a play on words would be nice. Mims and Moo came up with a ton of suggestions and I really liked Imandatory.

Do you get it though? I want the column to be a “mandatory read” for you – something you have to read all the time (or every two weeks) – and my name is “Iman”, so all I needed to do was pop an “I” in front of “mandatory” and that’s it!

So start off by saying my name “ee-mun” and add “duh-toh-ree” and you got it! Imandatory! Meh, we’ll see how long we go with this.

I’ve gotten some very kind and sweet messages of support and congratulations, I just want you to know how grateful I am for this overwhelming response! I never imagined people would even realise I had a column (but when someone who has 800K+ followers posts about it, you’re bound to get a reaction, haha)!

My journalism professor for International Affairs in third year, Professor Cohen was a columnist in the Ottawa Citizen. He wrote about the world, politics and current affairs. I used to think he was so cool and I would imagine what it would be like to be able to write about anything you want, and have people actually want to read it.

Well Professor Cohen, I hope I made you proud.

Okay sure, my content is not as serious as the global status quo, the impending pressure on international security or why America chose who they did – but I still hope he’s proud of me! Hahaha.

I was blown away when I got the offer from the Editor of Flair. Really? Me!? I’m just, Me!

But she told me I could do it, and I thought it would be a great way to gain more experience and to try out something new. Also I wanted to make the little journalist in me feel fulfilled and finally get to see her name in black ink. Plus my dad makes jokes about paying for journalism school and not seeing me on the news or in print  -_-

I guess I am on TV (in a different capacity) and in print (also not under the hard news section, oh well) so Papa’s jokes can now die.

The Imandatory Read comes out every two weeks in the Flair section of the News Straits Times – and for all my wonderful friends abroad who aren’t able to get a hard copy, you can read my “maiden article” here – and I’ve also uploaded the scanned versions below.

Thank you again to everyone for your constant support. I’ll repay you by blogging more.

Wait, maybe I should not make promises I can’t keep, haha. Okay, I’ve got to write a few articles now, deadlines are coming up! Love you guys!

living-beyond-the-9-to-5-1living-beyond-the-9-to-5-2living-beyond-the-9-to-5-3

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Imandatory Read. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Say Hello To The “Imandatory Read”

  1. Congratulations Iman!

  2. ikaandher says:

    I hope u can write more cause if your person can do it (daily now?) so do you love 😉 xx

  3. halizaab says:

    Congratulations Iman! Love it… can’t wait to read the next one #nopressure haha

  4. Minci 先生 says:

    I’m going to keep a look out on this Flair thing just because you’re writing in it.. can’t wait for the next article

  5. Evan Lau says:

    i stumbled upon your blog and been reading all the entires! you have an amazing flair for writing. congratulations on your debut in print! keep up the great work!

  6. Dida says:

    Congratulations on your column! It’s such a great read, looking forward to more ‘Imandatory Read’ in the future!

Leave a Reply

