Colour Confused

I was driving down a long stretch of highway when I noticed the continuous stream of billboards advertising skin whitening products and collagen and all sort of ‘white’ beauty products. Why are Malaysians so obsessed with being fair? I just don’t get it.

I know I also went through life associating being fair as being more beautiful, but how were we fed with this mindset? I am so interested in finding out why we think this way. I suppose it’s in a way the same as equating being tan as “looking healthier” in the West.

It’s just this whole ‘colour’ thing that I don’t get. Sometimes the way people look at me and Ashraf, I feel they think we’re in an interracial marriage, hahaha! Anyway, I digress – this week’s Imandatory Read is below for your reading pleasure.

***

FV is finally on our raya break and I spent today doing community service outreach with some of the team, did errands (almost all day) and read the first 15 pages of China Rich Girlfriend in Kinokuniya while I waited for Ashraf to finish work. We’re now rolling around in our RM 150 white Ikea sheets (there is just something about white sheets that make sleeping sooo luxurious!) before bed (I know it’s 9:30PM, we’re old people k)

We have to pack for raya tomorrow – heading to Singapore with the in-laws again this year (it’s supposed to be my side’s turn, but my parents aren’t here #abandoned). I hope you guys have your baju raya all ready!

 

13) Rise Above The Dark Side 113) Rise Above The Dark Side 2

 

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Imandatory Read, Self Development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

