The Advice I Needed To Hear

I’m in bed, about to turn my computer off and go to bed, but before I do, I just want to remember today.

Imandatory Read #16 was published today (sixteen already!? Oh my goodness, I’m going to run out of things to write about soon!) and I’ve received an endless loving stream of messages and comments about today’s column. I wrote about what it felt like to be a boy-crazy girl in a world where no boys loved me back, haha.

I texted my editor last week and asked her feedback on #ImandatoryRead – what could I do better? How can I improve my writing? Is there anything I can do to make the column more interesting?

She told me to “talk more about the general implications [of my stories], it would be more about the readers, and less about me”. That was earth shattering advice. No one is that interested to read stories that are point blank just about me every two weeks, it gets boring.

But if I could share about how my story relates to the readers, that would definitely be more hard hitting.

I faced a wall when I sat down to write #16 – I tried to churn something out for days but everything didn’t come out right. I always try to come out with a ten-word sentence that is the ‘purpose’ of my article, and in the middle of watching Last Chance U (on Netflix – highly recommend!) I typed out “Don’t look for the guy, let him come to you”.

The words just flowed.

I wasn’t always the person I am now and definitely had challenges in finding a partner. For many years I doubted my self worth and felt shitty for being single. I decided to shift the narrative to myself and focused solely on being better for “me’, and not for a guy’s attention.

I was nervous about how this piece was going to come out, but the response proved my nerves had nothing to worry about. I am so so so happy my message resonated with so many people, that they took something away from my thoughts and how I could’ve possibly helped in shifting some people’s views about how they’re feeling about their relationship status.

I mean every single word I shared in this week’s article (and every week!), and I feel extremely grateful airing out my insecurities has made this kind of impact. I promise I’ll try to keep producing pieces like this and to never stop sharing my truth with you. If you’re reading this, thank you for your support and love – it means the world to me.

 

IMG_5082

16) What Was Wrong With Me 1

August 2nd 2017: What Was Wrong With Me?

16) What Was Wrong With Me 2

August 2nd 2017: What Was Wrong With Me?

About Iman Azman

Hello! I am Iman Azman and I am excited you're browsing my page. I am a twenty-something who loves (almost) everything the world has to offer. From books to bunnies, food to fitness, work to working-out and the tiny pieces in between. I am a proud Carleton University journalism alumnus and spent most of my early adult life growing up in magical Ottawa. I love being back in KL and super pumped about sharing this next phase of Life with you! Okay, you know a bit about me now, friends?
This entry was posted in Imandatory Read, Self Development. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Advice I Needed To Hear

  1. Nurul says:

    Hi Iman, I’ve been a silent blog follower of yours from Singapore. Couldn’t agree more with your latest Imandatory read. Keep writing Iman cos it’s always a joy to read your posts and articles. Your personality simply shines through. Your hubby is one lucky man! 🙂

  2. theonlynea says:

    This post changed my opinion about how things work! Now I just want to focus on make my dreams come true.

  3. hazwanijamal says:

    Reblogged this on hazwanijamal and commented:
    I enjoy reading her post and articles, You guys should read it up too ❤

Leave a Reply

